Impromptu G/5+0 Blitz Tournament #4

There was another good turnout for our casual evening this past Thursday and twenty people played in the 4-round G/5+0 blitz tournament, won (yet again) by Pranav Jindal with a perfect 4-0 score, followed by Kunal Modi, Nikita Grinkin, Satya Chitturi and yours truly at 3 points. At the conclusion of this tournament quite a few people wanted to play another 4-rounder but we simply didn’t have time–perhaps if we manage to start earlier we can hold two complete blitz tournaments in one evening. Regards,

Mark Drury

#PlayerRd 1Rd 2Rd 3Rd 4Total
1Pranav JindalB 15W 5B 4W 2
2Kunal ModiW 16B 9W 3B 1
3Nikita GrinkinB 12W 11B 2W 6
4Satya ChitturiW 17B 13W 1B 10
5Mark DruryB 18B 1W 14W 11
6David ZhaoW 14B 8W 9B 3
7Hugo PubyebyeB 12W 14
8Josen KalraW 13W 6B 19B 17
9Cesar TamondongB 20W 2B 6W 18
10Rohan KaprebyebyeB 18W 4
11Arnav BhavsarB 19B 3W 13B 5
12Eddie ZhaoW 3B 20W 7B 19
13Hayden BrongersmaB 8W 4B 11W 16
14Aditya DhamdhereB 6W 15B 5B 7
15Ashwin GaneshW 1B 14W 17B 20
16Kornel CsernaiB 2W 18W 20B 13
17Michael DarrB 4W 19B 15W 8
18Jeff UngarW 5B 16W 10B 9
19Kyan AgdassiW 11B 17W 8W 12
20Paul HartelW 9W 12B 16W 15

Impromptu G/3+2 Blitz Tournament #3

Our casual/blitz/bughouse evening this past Thursday was more lightly attended than usual, perhaps due to the upcoming Labor Day Weekend and the fact that we completed our Quick-rated tournament the week before, but many club stalwarts and several first-time visitors played in a five-round impromptu blitz tournament, with Andy Applebaum taking sole first with a perfect 5-0 score (I gave Andy a run for him money in the final round). Satya Chitturi was second with 4 points and Jeff McGinnis third at 3.5. It was another fun event and we may do this every casual evening as there appears to be an appetite for it. Full results follow and note that our Surfeit of Blitz Redux event will likely occur over two weeks September 23rd and 30th. Regards,

Mark Drury

#PlayerRd 1Rd 2Rd 3Rd 4Rd 5Total
1Andy ApplebaumB 8W 4B 2W 9B 7
2Satya ChitturiW 10B 9W 1B 6W 4
3Jeff McGinnisbyebyebyeB 11B 9
4Deep BardhanW 11B 1W 7B 10B 2
5Aranya KunduW 12W 14B 6B 15W 10
6Chase WangW 7B 16W 5W 2B 12
7Mark DruryB 6W 12B 4byeW 1
8Hayden BrongersmaW 1B 11W 16B 13—-
9Ashwin GaneshB 17W 2B 12B 1W 3
10Arnav BhavsarB 2W 17B 14W 4B 5
11Hugo PuB 4W 8B 17W 3W 13
12Esther MendozaB 5B 7W 9W 14W 6
13Colin TaylorbyebyebyeW 8B 11
14Aditya DhamdhereW 16B 5W 10B 12B 17
15Abhik ChatterjeebyebyebyeW 5B 16
16Michael DarrB 14W 6B 8W 17W 15
17Paul HartelW 9B 10W 11B 16W 14